Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
he guys. I would like to do a clean install / reformat of my computer. It has slowed down a ton since I got it 2yrs. ago, and I'm sure there is a ton of junk on there. Anyway, I have never done this before, so I have some questions.
There are a couple of programs that are on my computer that I want to keep, and also there is a video game that I play that has the game saved on like the 100th. level. How do I make backups of these files so that after I do the clean install, I can use these programs like I did before the reformat? Then, how do I do the reformat? :chgrin: To let you guys better help me out, this is my rig:

leadtek fx5950 video card
audigy 2 sound card
every other aftermarket button and whistle (wireless keyboard/mouse, joysticks, steering wheels, gamepads, web cam, etc.)

will I have to re-install all the software for this stuff too??

G

·
If you really want to start over you should write zeros to the drive.

But when you do start over your really going to be starting with nothing except what you have on CD's. As far as the game goes I can't think of a way of saving all of your scores and stuff and you will need to install all the software for all of your gadgets that you have in there.

·
Registered
186 Posts
I did a format c and re-install of Windows Xp on my computer last night.

I did it all from the Windows set-up disk, which I found much easier then doing it in ..ermm command line? DOS? DOS i think :chgrin:

I use Windows xp, I boot from the CD, go to install windows and choose a full format of the drive before i install, it then copies Windows on without me having to have a floppy read with the CD driver on etc.

THough have you tired to defrag the drive? I have read you should do this once a month, depending on how much up put on/take off your drive.