Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not very good at Linux yet. Also, after talking to some people about Linux, I hear my problems are common. Can anyone tell me how to fix them? My sound works fine half the time when I play a video. Other than that, it don't work at all. When I use Sndconfig, that detects it correctly, but when I go to test it, it makes the noise I posted here. Also, even as Root, I cannot get to my CD-RW because it is locked. How do I unlock it and get to it? I can't even play a Korn CD in it! Everything works fine outside Linux. Please... Help... Me... Here...:confused:

Attachments

·
TSF Enthusiast
6,298 Posts
I have RedHat 5.1 and I have the same problem: even under root, I can't play any cds or hear any sound....

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
Is it detecting your sound card correctly and is the volume turned up in the control panel?

[edit]
Lectraplayer,
What do you mean its locked ? It wont open or it wont display contents of the drive or? (Have you mounted it?)

·
Registered
529 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Yes!

TheTechIsIn said:
Is it detecting your sound card correctly and is the volume turned up in the control panel?

[edit]
Lectraplayer,
What do you mean its locked ? It wont open or it wont display contents of the drive or? (Have you mounted it?)