Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Gang: I am a newbie at the computer scene.
I really need help!!!!
I have a:
HP Pavilion with a AMD 300mhz
256 meg ram PC-100
20 gig hard drive
AT&T cable modem
Whenever I run the Microsoft Internet Explorer, after about 2-5 minutes on line I get the following message:

Iexplore caused a general protection fault in module user.exe at 0003:00001022 etc . :upset:

I then click on close and the entire internet explorer closes and I need to start over.
I have done the following:
Run the latest anti-virus update, the AV did not find any virus, etc.
I have remove and reinstall internet explorer 6.0 & service pk 1
I have replace the 256 meg ram with newly purchased ones
Yet the error message continues.
Please help this newbie!!!! I need a fix ASAP

Thanks again for your help, this support forum is the greatest.
Steven

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hmm. I was going to say try re-installing Internet Explorer, but you've already done that. Perhaps user.exe is corrupted, somehow... the only way to fix this (if this is indeed the problem) is to reinstall Windows...

·
Registered
15 Posts
btw... what version of Windows are you running? IE6 SP1 doesn't work properly with version prior to 98 Second Edition. (But then again, I don't think it will let you install it on older versions, either). You may also consider going toWindows Update site to see if they have a patch...

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Arlonharrisoon77:
Thanks for your post, do you know what the user.exe does?
If it is corrupted, where would I go to reinstall the corrupted file?
The IT guy at my company said that it is one of the more difficult errors to fix:
1. Maybe AOL is conflicting with the Internet Explorer
2. There could be several possibilities of corruption that could be causing the error.