Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m an IT intern at a small organization. We’ve upgrading the operating systems on several of the PCs.

I’m trying to do a clean install of Windows 7 from a thumb drive’s setup file on one particular PC. ( The PC only has a CD-ROM drive so I can’t use the installation DVD. ) The other specs are: HP Compaq dc5100 with a Pentium 4 3.GPHz and 2.49 detected RAM.

So, from within Windows XP, I launch the setup file and click “Install now”. I click “Go online to get the latest updates…” followed by accepting the user agreement. I then click “Custom (Advanced)” install for a clean install.

This is the point where I have the problem. At the bottom of the new screen, it reads “No drives were found. Click Load Driver to provide a mass storage driver for installation.” This is the part I cannot get past.

I did a little bit of investigating and learned the BIOS does recognize the hard drive. It’s a SATA 0 80.0 GB WDC WD800JD-60LSA0. I believe that means the BIOS can detect it. The CD-ROM Drive reads IDE Primary 0 HL-DT-ST GCE-8487B.

I tried installing the SIIG Serial ATA Controller Card Driver into the “CD-ROM Drive”, but Windows wouldn’t allow me.

Strangely, Windows doesn’t seem to recognize the device despite being able to load and run Windows XP. I have a C drive (where my hard drive is supposed to be), but I think the computer detects it as a CD drive. When I right click on the drive and select properties, it only lists my thumb drive and “HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8487B.”The device status on the bottom says says “This device is working properly”.

Under My Computer, I see three drives. A C drive with the hard drive icon, a CD-RW Drive (D), and my Kingston thumb drive (E). All devices can be clicked and accessed.