Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok this is my first post so sorry if its in the wrong forum, but i think it should go here.

k, i have a desktop with XP and charter cable internet. charter gave us a webstar modem from scientific-atlanta inc. i have a netgear wgr614v6 wireless router with v1.0.11_1.0.7NA firmware.

my problem: lately my internet connection has been real shotty. one day it worked great then the next it barely worked at all. then good again and so on. sometimes it takes 20min to load one page which is rediculous. i have tried everything i know of that i can do. first i ran virus scans and spyware scans and they found stuff but that didnt solve my problem. then i even reinstalled windows which has worked in the past when something like this has happened. well this time it did nothing. i re-ran the virus and spyware scans and still nothing. i have taken the router out of the network so the comp is directly connected to the cable modem and it shows that it is connected on the monitor, but when i try to ping anything then i get nothing going in or out. when i reconnect the router then i atleast get a crappy connection. im thinking it might be the cable modem but i cant be sure because we do get some good spikes then it will get real slow. the only thing i can think of to do if i dont get anything here is call someone to come out and troubleshoot it. i dont wanna spend money though so any help is greatly appreciated.
 

·
Citizen of the world
Joined
·
51,137 Posts
Try power cycling the modem when you connect directly, that's a required step. You need to isolate the issue to either the ISP/modem or the router.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i have unplugged the modems power when i directly connect the pc. do you have any suggestions on how to isolate the problem to the modem or router?
 

·
Citizen of the world
Joined
·
51,137 Posts
When you're directly connected to the modem, do this:

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

D:\Documents and Settings\Chris.SHEAHAN-2100>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : sheahan-2100
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-2B-6F-60-E4
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 11, 2007 1:01:09 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 12, 2007 1:01:09 PM

D:\Documents and Settings\Chris.SHEAHAN-2100>


_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

sorry it took so long to post, the internet is to blame for that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
oh and i did get a connection now running straight through the modem (no router) but the connection is still slow and choppy so i dont believe its anything to do with the router. there could always be more than one thing wrong though
 

·
Citizen of the world
Joined
·
51,137 Posts
If you have slow connections with no router, clearly, that's an issue that should be addressed first.

I think it's time to call your ISP and hold their feet to the fire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
ok, now its running pretty good with the router taken out, so maybe it was the router. sorry, i know im frustrating, but so is this problem. while connected directly to the modem its running pretty good, maybe a few slow spots, but much better than before when i was connected through the router. any suggestions assuming it was the router causing the problems?
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top