Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heya! First off, thanks for taking the time to read my thread. You guys have a great forum, happy I found ya.

So anyways, this is my first build as the title implies. I am basically looking to see if everything is compatible and am looking for any suggestions you can provide. Good improvements for a small amount of cash, pointing out bad brands, etc.

The rig will be mainly used for gaming maybe some video recording, minor multi-tasking, and other day to day stuff. Something that I can sit on for several years and still be fairly ok with. My current computer has lasted me about seven years on a couple of cheap upgrades, but it is defenatly not suited for today’s games. P4 2.4G, 1Gig ram (mobo slots filled), GeForce 4200. Just blagh.

As to some of the other questions I see asked, other than Intel and NVIDIA brands don't bother me really, whatever is reliable. OCing would be cool, but I have no experience and would probably just kill something. Going for Windows 64-bit (ram). Ill probably just transfer my accessories to the new comp. Nothing recycled other than what was just stated. Shopping at Newegg unless someone sees some bargains. Living in the US.

Ok, on to the meat of the post. Here's what I have chosen for components and am looking for advice on.

COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel, SECC $49.99 - Seems like a good price, size, and quality.

MSI P6N SLI Platinum LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel
$119.99 - Here is where most of my questions are. Almost every build I see is a GIGABYTE or ASUS mobo. This one seemed swell to me. Am I missing something that I really should invest a bit more for?