Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm really hoping you can help me here, but unfortunately... i have no computer-tech knowledge, and as such.. am completely reliant on you.

About 6 months ago, we had a severe thunderstorm here which came directly overhead. Ever since that night.... when i turn on my computer, the monitor remains BLANK. The [monitor] LED light comes on 'green' for a few seconds, but after a moment, turns 'orange'. I know orange means it's not turning on properly!

I have tried replacing the monitor with another (hoping that it was a simple problem to fix)... but that monitor didn't either. For some reason, the power isn't getting from the 'computer harddrive/motherboard' (or what you call it) to the monitor.

There is no visual whatsoever on the monitor.

:4-dontkno please.. i have no idea what to do to fix the problem.

Any ideas or questions?

It's a packardbell computer and monitor.. but i don't suppose that helps much.
I don't really know much else about it, and since i cannot load it up at all, i won't be able to tell you its spec.

Please help.
thanx.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Before we continue, as you say yourself as "inexperienced" if theres anything i say that you dont understand just ask. :)

The problem is with your graphics card i think. You may need to reset the CMOS settings of the card, and perhaps the motherboard.

Can you try one of the monitors on a different computer? A friends/neighbours?

Then we can eliminate the possibility of BOTH monitors not working.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi,

thanx for your quick reply.
I will try the monitor on my parents computer.. but just wondering before I do; the monitor is some years old and my parents computer is new. Is that likely to be a problem?

As for the graphics card, I have no idea what graphics card I have on the computer... hope that won't be a problem! :sigh:

·
Registered
2,268 Posts