Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am fairly new to the world of macs so it would be great if anyone could give me some advice...

Im looking to set up a wired network in my home office between:

4x Mac Mini OS X version 10.4.11 (1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 1 GB 667 MHz)
1x External Hard drive
1x Internet router
1x Printer

As far as I am aware I just have to buy:

7x Belkin RJ45 high-performance category 6 UTP Patch cable
1x Apple 8-port Gigabit Desktop Switch

From what I have read online all I have to do is connect all the components to the hub via the Ethernet cables then set settings for file sharing and printing. From the guides I have read it seem fairly straight forward and I wont need any additional hardware or software.

If anyone has any advice I would be grateful. Tips from experience of doing this would also be great.

Thanks for the help

Ant

·
Macintosh Methodology Wizard - TSF Retired
13,608 Posts
Apple doesn't make any network switches, so you have me with that one, but yes, if your router is set up correctly, plug it's LAN port into the WAN port of the switch if it has one, else into port 1 and everything else into the other ports and all should work.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry it was from the apple store but it was the:

Netgear's GS608 8-port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Do I need a different cable for the router then? Or is it the same as the hard drive, macs and printer?

Thanks

·
13,608 Posts
All the same cables. Switches these days, as well as the Macs, should be smart enough to know which mode to be in to work. You no longer need to worry about patch or crossover cables. Just get 7 CAT-5 cables and you'll be set.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks,