Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:angry2: Ok...I do this for a living, so you can imagine my embarassment...suffice it to say, I feel like a complete moron, and I am sure my issues are strictly menial. The problem is most likely so simple, that even I can't figure it out !

Anyway, I have an M830L (
http://www.pcchips.com.tw/product/M830Lv31b.html ), and the onboard video card has two MALE ports. So, how the hell am I supposed to SEE ? I have a perfectly good Radeon 7000 I can throw in it, but if I can't disable the onboard video in the BIOS, how can I use it ? *duh* I have never seen an onboard without a female port. Am I missing something here ?

I tried to buy some sort of female adapter, to no avail.

So, please spare me travesty of calling me an idiot, and point out what simple aspect I am missing to this equation.

--------------------------

I am also having issues with the jumpers. I followed the diagram that came with the motherboard, and the system won't stay booted for longer than 10 seconds, before it shuts off. I can only get it to boot when the RESET jumper is plugged in to the power section of the board. *** ?!!! HELP !

(is it my case ? I have a server tower, and the motherboard fits in it, so I would assume that this means the case is a standard ATX Form Flow)

I am using a 400W power supply, which has been approved for the AMD K7 (which is what I have), so the power issue doesn't seem to be originating from that.

---------------------------

Assistance will be GREATLY appreciated !

Helixx

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok...the simple answer has finally come to me. This motherboard has been sitting collecting dust for 4 months now...because Best Buy was too stupid to carry the right adapter !!

I needed a DB9 Female/Female...problem solved.

--------------------------------

Still need some ideas on the boot issue.

THANKS !

·
Registered
9 Posts