Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this is the wrong place. I wasn't sure where to put this.

I am looking for a covert program that will snap pics with my web cam at specified intervals so I can see what is happening in my computer room while I am not around. I have birds in the same room and my son uses my computer. I want to know how much he may be abusing the birds because of the noise they make or if he is just covering them up shortly after we leave to make them be quiet, etc. I have that Timershot Powertoy for Windows, but it leaves an icon in the tray. The last time I left it running, my son saw it running within about 5 minutes and shut it down. So, I want something that runs in the background and is free preferably.

·
Security Manager, Analyst , Rangemaster, TSF Acade
39,538 Posts
I'm not an expert with webcams etc so can't really help you there. However, I'm just wondering if you're maybe taking the wrong approach here. Obviously I have no idea about your relationship with your son, but it seems to me that perhaps you need to sit down and talk. While he may be guilty (of something), you are proposing to spy on him. To me that does not bode well for your relationship.

Hope that doesn't sound like I'm preaching - I just wanted to let you know my thoughts.

·
Banned
1,045 Posts
I hate to say it, but 'spying' is a necessary part of being a parent..kids will lie, end of discussion...of course there is the issue of having blown your 'cover' when you use the information you've gained...