Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well after I received the Dreaded BSOD which any one of us has received at one time or another accompanied by a Memory Dump Notification I decided to do something about it rather than pray and hope it would not happen again only to ignore it after a month and have it happen again. This Morning I got the Pro Version and it's doing a very through scan right now. I can't risk My Rig on some malware crap or worse a full blown killer virus. It's a pretty good program for the money. I got a one year subscription with 20% Off with an extra six months added for less than $50 Canadian. Pretty good deal considering what's being safeguarded. Reason for this thread is to ask people about the reliability of this product and the whole deal with the Boot Sector. I realize that there were other programs out there that were not scanning the Boot Sector. I was told that AVG was one of those products. Not too sure how accurate that is but anyway. No more risks for me. Anyone got there master list of what they would consider the best AV Suite or standalone program for them.

Thanks

Jones

· Registered
2,976 Posts
Well I have been using Avast for a couple of years now and I'm pretty satisfied with it. It is fast, simple, unobtrusive, and very effective in it's function. Although there was an update today that is causing problems. In almost every program that I run Avast finds this Win32:Delf-MZG trojan. A minor problem that will be fixed soon enough.

· Registered
596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·