Tech Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. This problem is killing me. I'm a mechanic by trade (industrial equipment) but this has me stumped. It starts up fine, runs fine, but as soon as it either runs for about 10 seconds or I open the choke it dies.

I first drained all the gas and replaced it with new gas. Then I replaced the fuel filter and fuel pump. Then I replaced the spark plugs. Then I replaced the fuel filter and pump again with real John Deere brand since I got the first ones from Amazon.

Nothing has worked at all. No improvement or change in symptoms.

Any help would be incredibly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5,413 Posts
runs for about 10 seconds or I open the choke it dies.
You probably need to clean out your carburetor. I had to clean a Kawasaki 2-cylinder engine's carb just the other day because the lawn tractor had set too long with ethanol gas in it. I use a set of tiny drill bits and welding tip cleaners but any small wire will usually suffice. Of course, you will need spray carb cleaner too. There's really not all that much in a small-engine carburetor that needs cleaned. The float bowl needle valve port, the main jet and nozzle, and the pilot jet are about it. The problem is that if one of the small passageways in the carb body is completely corroded shut by ethanol gas then the carb is usually toast. You will need an exact-sized flat-bladed screwdriver to remove the main jet or you are going to damage the threads and oftentimes you will need a thin open-ended wrench to get off the float bowl if there's an attached fuel shutoff solenoid. You can either buy these or do what I do and just grind down an old one to fit. Be careful not to damage gaskets when removing or replacing the carb or you will need new ones.

Aftermarket carb replacements are only $25 bucks and another option.

·
Moderator, Automotive Team
14,072 Posts