Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi:

When I run a Ewido scan on my computer at work, it spends a lot of time
scanning what appear to be .jpg files in a folder labeled "Temp220" in C:program Files\Accessories. I got the folder info and it's got over 220,000 files and is over 10GB in size. Nothing called "Temp220" appears on the 'Add/Remove Programs' list, and when I try to open the folder, I just get the waving flashlight icon. It says the folder was created in July of 2003; I am a teacher and would not have been at school at that time. We do have summer programs, and the people who work for them do have access to our computers. I find it hard to believe that anything like this is good for my computer at work (and, by extension, our network). Does anyone know anything about this? Thanks!

Rich

·
Roaming To Help
5,667 Posts
Its a thorough scanner so its supposed to take about 4 hours to can an average sized HDD. If it never, you'd miss most of the spyware and it'll be rendered useless at its function.

Ewido is old and is not updated. Now its under this label: AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5

Get that, and run it while your away or at night. Not while you need the computer for other processes. Also get SpybotS&D, an anti-virus software like AVG or avast!, both free and run them preferably in SafeMode.
Do through scans and get a cup of coffee, or you can go on a 6 hour trip somewhere and be back when it finishes :grin:

If they find the folder as "suspecting", then you can navigate for it (its not a program so it won't be in Add/Remove) but its a folder with contents.

After the scans, you can explore the files and delete what you want. You can also quarantine which will make the virus/spyware useless and frozen but will allow you the option to view its files, restore it and also delete it permanently.