Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an ATi Radeon x1800xt 512 card (official ATi version) and i've been using it for close to 6 months now. It works great, has never given me any problems....games never crash (at least they never crash because of the video card..) and it always gets the job done.

However, i'm kind of worried about the tempertures it's been at since I first got it. It usually runs 50-55 degrees celcius idle, and then goes all the way up to 69 degrees celcius under heavy load. The worst thing i've experienced from this is some artifacts/anomalies, and they aren't bad. But the temps have me worried.

Is 70 degrees celcius normal for this line of cards?

I'm on stock cooling (and don't plan on buying another cooler for it so don't recommend it :p) and there is a fan speed control in part of my driver options. It's at default of 32% fan speed (even under excessive load) but when it's at 100% my computer sounds like a vaccum cleaner. But, at 100% the temps went as low as 40 degrees celcius.

So what should I do?

·
TSF Team Emeritus
3,450 Posts
Agreed. My 6800 Ultra idles at 55-60 degrees. Not sure what it reaches under load, but it's not too troubling.
If we are lucky, Indoril Nerevar will post in here and tell us his idles temps (he is running 2 x 7800GTX, pretty sure idle is ~65 -70).

If you don't mind a bit of extra noise i would set the fan up a little bit, but it is not really neccesary.

·
Registered
6,081 Posts
If your fans can keep the temps down to 40 degrees, then there's nothing to worry about. As Tiber said above, I run two 7800GTX's, and in the summer they idle at 65 - 69. Under load, they reach 82. At those temps, I do have problems with system crashes and such. However, during the cooler months, they idle at 54 - 57, and reach 70 under load, and I don't have problems.