Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having problems connecting to the internet one one of the computers on my home network. I have a Dynalink wireless router, and can connect to the internet fine with computers wirelessly. However, when I try to use the desktop PC (Windows Vista Home Basic) to connect to the internet with an ethernet cable, it does not work. I attempted to set up a connection which tells me I'm connected to the internet and everything is fine, but it isn't. I cannot access any web pages or use applications such as Windows Live Messenger. For a period of time I could talk over Messenger, but still not acces webpages, but now even that small convenience has stopped. Please help, as I am sick of having a big fat computer that I cannot use. My computer is one of these:http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01081084&cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&product=3454342 with RAM upgraded to 4gb. I am in Australia. If you need any additional information, I will be glad to provide it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,973 Posts
Disable all security software and try connecting.

Open up a command prompt (Start > run > cmd)
Type the following bolded commands and post the results for each affected machine.

ipconfig /all
ping www.google.com
ping 74.125.53.99

Windows Vista
Open up a command prompt (Start > All Programs >Accessories > alternate click on Command Prompt > select "Run as Administrator"
Type the bolded commands into the command prompt window:

Reset WINSOCK entries: netsh winsock reset catalog
Reset IPv4 TCP/IP: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

When finished reboot
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Disable all security software and try connecting.

Open up a command prompt (Start > run > cmd)
Type the following bolded commands and post the results for each affected machine.

ipconfig /all
ping www.google.com
ping 74.125.53.99
Alright I did that:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Jason>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Loungeroom
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home
System Quarantine State . . . . . : Not Restricted


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-B9-80-0E-C5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6828:b527:7e32:73b6%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, 28 May 2009 3:14:50 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 29 May 2009 3:14:49 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.home
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



C:\Users\Jason>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.l.google.com [66.102.11.104] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 66.102.11.104: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=249
Reply from 66.102.11.104: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=249
Reply from 66.102.11.104: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=249
Reply from 66.102.11.104: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=249

Ping statistics for 66.102.11.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 24ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 25ms




Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Jason>ping 74.125.53.99

Pinging 74.125.53.99 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.53.99: bytes=32 time=236ms TTL=245
Reply from 74.125.53.99: bytes=32 time=236ms TTL=245
Reply from 74.125.53.99: bytes=32 time=236ms TTL=245
Reply from 74.125.53.99: bytes=32 time=236ms TTL=245

Ping statistics for 74.125.53.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 236ms, Maximum = 236ms, Average = 236ms

C:\Users\Jason>

Now do I enter the other commands under "Windows Vista"?
 

·
Global Moderator
Electronic Design
Joined
·
52,024 Posts
Riskyone101, since DHCP is already enabled, and he had a good connection to the Internet, I doubt that's a useful suggestion. You really should read the descriptions before suggesting solutions.


You have a good connection to the Internet, what are the exact symptoms at this point?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,973 Posts
Now do I enter the other commands under "Windows Vista"?
OK, so i assume that you still can't access the internet through your browser. And as the information suggests you have a connection to the internet. Did you disable all security software? Go ahead and run the commands if you haven't already.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Alright, I ran those commands, and still the same problem. Sorry about taking so long to reply, I though I posted this a few days ago, but apparently not.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I cannot use any application to access the internet. I have AVG Free 8.5.285 and Windows Defender.
I'm not sure if this will help, but I clicked "Diagnose and Repair" on the network connection in the system tray, and it said:

"www.microsoft.com" is not set up to establish a connection on port "World Wide Web service (HTTP)" with this computer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,973 Posts
Well, I've seen that error before. That is commonly caused by security software conflicts. Uninstall AVG and Windows Defender (if you can with that one). Reboot, then check your processes in task manager and make sure that no security process is running.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Thanks! I uninstalled AVG and disabled Windows Defender, and now the it's all working fine. Safari won't load any pages though, but the other browsers do. Seeing as AVG doesn't seem to get along with my computer (I tried reinstalling it and had the same problem) what other free anti-virus programs do you reccomend?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Alright, f**k. I just realised that Crazy Browser is the only browser that will connect to the internet (IE and Safari won't) and I upgraded to the latest Windows Live Messenger and it won't connect either, along with any program that automatically updates.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,973 Posts
Which browser is able to connect? Are you able to access your router's interface through the browsers?

Open IE and under tools run Diagnose this connection, when your done view the log it creates and post a screen shot of it.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top