Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Gang,
I'm getting ready to take the big plunge and would like all the feedback you guys can give in helping me make an awfully big decision. Several of you out here know I'm a writer and things are progressing quite nicely. As a matter of fact, its now to the point that I'm now ready to purchase the "computer of my dreams." This is where--you--the big guns come in!!

I know what I'm hoping to find in a system, the reasons for them but for the life of me, I have no clue as to where to look, or what to buy. With that said, I also know that regardless of my purchase, its going to be obsolete "by industry standards" due to changing technology. That may be a true statement "by industry standards" but by "Red's standards" it'll be the dream system I've always wanted and will finally have with your advice and feedback.

Listed below is what I'd love to have in my dream system.

I'd like 3 but would prefer 4 partitioned drives. I'd like c: drive to be the largest but I'd also like separate drives with decent storage space where literary info gathering data can be placed along with rough and edited drafts, final copy, music, program downloads and pictures. In essence, I'd like these drives to be large enough to accomodate all I want and still have room there to execute various functions as well.
The ability to burn both CD's and DVD's. I'm thinking that if I can burn the CD's I'll have another source of backing up any written word for the book thus guarding my work and easing the chance of a mental meltdown with accompanying heart attack! The ability to burn DVD's is just for me for fun!
A scanner
The ability to fax documents from within the system.