Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm new to overclocking, never done it before and I would like assistance before I do anything.

Here's my system specs (EVERYTHING IS STOCK. I have not modified or replaced any parts and expected OC is low):
i7 950 @ 3.07GHz
ASUS P6X58D-E
Corsair TX650W
12GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz (Pt. No. CM3X2G1600C9B6)
Antec 600 Case
Sapphire Radeon HD5830 1GB

I intend to increase the performance of my computer a bit, obviously, with stock cooler not much but at least enough to make a bit of a difference.

I would rather use the BIOS settings as I know you can get more stable and better settings using that.

I assume it is best to switch off turbo boost?

My idle temp on the CPU at the moment is around 36C and the motherboard sits at about 32C.

Thanks!

(As a little extra, how do I stop Windows media player from opening at start-up? especially the network sharing sevice thing?)

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Just so you know, the highest temp I got whilst rendering HD video and CPU being between 98-100% usage for about 5 mins at least, was 66C.

Also, I have the side of the case off, if that makes a difference. (room temperature currently at 21C but sometimes up to 24C usually more 21C thugh.

Thanks again!

EDIT: PSU is a corsair TX650W... made by corsair... and 650W.... it's stated in the specs. I know the stock cooler is a bad idea, that's why i pointed it out so much. I can't really afford to blow another £50+ on a good cooler.

·
ROG Enthusiast
1,497 Posts
Well most over clockers would say anything over 80C after over clocking is too high.
I have or never heard of anyone getting a substantial over clock using the stock cooler and i cant tell you how much i suggest you wait to buy a new cooler then over clock.

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·