Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Gang,
I recently had a PS problem that trashed 2 HDDs. I've pretty much written off the data that was lost, but thought I might have a little fun.
Anyone ever removed the disk from one Hdd, and transplanted it into a different drive/housing? I really don't have anything to lose, but if I could make it work long enough to get the data off of it, well, that would be a story to tell.
Thanx In Advance,
The Wannabe Surgeon,
Steven

·
Registered
10,227 Posts
Yeah I have, several times... after I trashed the first 10 or 15 of them :) But then that's what I do for a living LOL. If you are going to attempt this, don't 'pretty much' have written off the data, write it off completely.
First of all are they the EXACT same model numbers? If so, then list all the information as far as identifying numbers and information on the labels of the drives. If they are multi platter drives, then the platters must be removed together, with no shifting of rotational position at all, even a micron, and the data is gone. Also wear powder free nitrile ( latex would work but not as well ) gloves to avoid fingerprints. You will need a relatively clean area to work - this is generally done in a class 100 or better clean room - opening in normal air the drive may last a year, might last 40 seconds.
Before removing the platters, you need to get the head stack backed off the platter, without letting the heads drag across the platters, and without letting the heads themselves slap together when they come off the platter - *hint* they will always try to do that! There are some you tube videos showing the process. Just remember most of the people you see doing the videos are recovery pros, who have done hundreds or thousands of these procedures. It looks easy in their hands.