Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so i built this computer about 9-10 months ago. i have had this problem from the very first boot up and i have yet to figure out what it is.

I realized it for the first time when i started playing WoW. Every few minutes, my computer freezes up and the sound starts stuttering. This will go on for 4-5 seconds then normal play will resume. This gets very annoying, especially in PvP.

I get the same problem with all the high-end games i play: Half-life 2, UT 2k4, etc. I can play the original half-life and other older games with no problems at all.

Also, when i try to rip CDs to my harddrive, using either windows media or iTunes, my sound starts stuttering like it does in-game and i get the infamous blue screen of death.

The BSoD gives me this error:

STOP: 0x0000009c (0x00000004, 0x80545FF0, 0xB2000000, 0x00070F0F)

im not quite sure what that means...

My specs:
AMD Athelon 3400+
GeForce 6800
1 GB of Geil ultra RAM

·
Registered
174 Posts
This could be a number of problems. I would start by swapping out the sound card and see if it happens again. Maybe even update the drivers.

·
TSF Emeritus
26,228 Posts
From http://aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php
"This is a hardware issue: an unrecoverable hardware error has occurred. The parameters have different meanings depending on what type of CPU you have but, while diagnostic, rarely lead to a clear solution. Most commonly it results from overheating, from failed hardware (RAM, CPU, hardware bus, power supply, etc.), or from pushing hardware beyond its capabilities (e.g., overclocking a CPU)."

Try running with just 1 stick of RAM at a time to see if either one is faulty, and then run memtest

0x0000009C http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=329284&sd=RMVP

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i tried one stick of RAM at a time and i still crash with both sticks.