Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend has a server and he give me 500 MB on his server. This is a Linux server and supprt PHP script.
Now I want to use database with mySQL on my website. What I must do ?
When I study PHP, I test my PHP script on localhost. I have no experience remote server.
I need all your help.

·
Registered
283 Posts
i always thought that php and mysql go hand in hand so if one was installed it was already installed guess i was wrong.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
PHP is programing language, mySQL is database management system. They're different.
Some one help me, please

·
Registered
2,390 Posts
Hey Doan_Du,

XZanE does have a point. The best combination is PHP and MySQL. I understand the differneces between but they are practically made for each other. :grin:

I don't own a Linux System so I have never tried setting up a server there. All that will be needed is to have the server read your mySQL nad php code etc.
Please specify which server to see if I can help you further.

Have a fun and computing day,
Grove :cool:

·
Registered
18,118 Posts
Modifying mySQL databases is easy! I use them myself on my own server so I'll tell you how it can be done. PHP and mySQL do work wonders together, especially for forums like this one and other things that you want dynamic updating with. In order to actually access the databses you'll need a program that can tap into them. I recommend mySQL Control Center. last I remember it's free and works great for working on databases. You can create servers, drop servers, create databses, add users, set permissions, query, all of that!

·
Banned
66 Posts
By the sounds of it you don't actually have a MySQL Database, and if not then kindly ask your friend if you can get one (Ask for phpmyadmin too, as it is a good program for SQL)