Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got all the OS versions and serials free from my college and installed both
win 7 and 8 on my notebook.

Now I've put up a rig and installed win 7 but I can't activate it cos I can't find my installation key from the notebook, I tried various software for this, for example Belarc advisor, jellybean, Win key finder, etc. but all they bring up is product key and in best case apparently what is last 5 characters of the true installation key.

To put it short, I've got a legal key but I can't figure out how to get it from the notebook, how am I supposed to do this?

Note: I'm talking about the installation key, the serial to install windows 7 professional, not a product key that does nothing for installing windows.

·
Microsoft-Team Manager , Hardware - Team Manager
68,800 Posts
Why not ask the college since they gave it to you.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I graduated already and the email account containing all those serials has been disabled. Back to the original question shall we?

edit: The keys must still be legit on the notebook, genuine check goes through. I just have no rights with the college anymore so asking them to fix this for me is no option.

·
Microsoft-Team Manager , Hardware - Team Manager
68,800 Posts
I suggested it because you have used the software I would have suggested

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've tried Microsoft's MGADIAG.exe, different commands to bring the serial forth but it only shows a partial serial, last 5 characters.

The fix may be a very uncommon one, perhaps to do with registry? Anyone?

·
Premium Member
19,585 Posts
most operating systems you purchase while in school are not transferable to another computer.

·
TSF Team, Emeritus
1,200 Posts
I've tried Microsoft's MGADIAG.exe, different commands to bring the serial forth but it only shows a partial serial, last 5 characters.