Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Banned
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just finished building a machine for a friend, and have been running it with the case open. Just before I went to close the case, I noticed that 2 of the (IDE) HD's were VERY hot. Almost too hot to touch.

When I assembled the machine, I had to put 2 of the HD's right next to each other in order to route power to all 3 HD's (plus a DVD burner). At the time, I knew that you were supposed to separate them for heat concerns, but didn't feel like I had any choice.

I've been playing with computers for a few years, and am familiar with CPU and Video Heat Issues, but have never read anything about Heat as it relates to Hard Drives.

So this morning I drove up to the local Computer Shop and spoke to a Tech there, and he had some suprising (to me) news.

He said that Heat is VERY critical, and that chronic overheating can cause a continuous degradative effect on the HD, ultimately resulting in complete failure and total data loss. He also said that there is an "acute" risk with over-heating as well, and that a spike in HD temperature could also kill a HD in a very short amount of time.

The computer I built is for a friend's small business, so the data on the HD's has a definable monetary value. So the risk of losing the data is of great concern.

The problem I have with what this Tech said is that he also said some other things that do not sound credible. Such as, when I asked if I could purchase an 6" Power Supply Cable Extension and solve the problem of the close proximity of the HD's that way, he said that it was not a viable solution as using a cable extension give a "critical point of failure" or some-such "buzz-phrase". He then (vaguely) extolled all the terrible things that could happen if I used such a cable, including killing the machine completely.