Tech Support banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an email account with my Internet Provider, Eir.ie and they are now withdrawing their free email service and I only have a few days to make other arrangements.
Presently I receive the mails through Thunderbird.
I would like to know, please, how to move everything, mails, address book, local folders etc., to a new email account.
I have existing occasionally used accounts with Outlook and GMail, and would like to know if there is another free email service that would be better suited to the transfer.
I need to find the easiest method as I am not very good at tech.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am trying to open another gmail account.
Very little was imported into the first one.
Some emails from the inbox, but no address book or anything else.
I wonder is it because I get everything through Thunderbird and there would be very little on
the Eir server.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
They are already in Thunderbird.
I am trying to get them to gmail as per Aptus recommendation in your earlier reply.

·
Windows Tech Team
1,073 Posts
And once you get what you need set up for Gmail, either stick with their webmail interface, which is very good, or obtain the TbSync add-on for Thunderbird so that Contacts and Calendar (if you're using it) will be kept in sync with your Google account. TbSync allows you to select what you wish to sync with your Google account that's also in Thunderbird.

·
Windows Tech Team
1,073 Posts
By the way, that previous article is focused on how you can access outside mail accounts from within Gmail, but not on transferring existing content over.

If the existing account will be around, even for a short while, I'd follow those instructions after having set up a Gmail filter on incoming mail saying to copy all messages to Gmail when they're initially being downloaded (presuming you were using IMAP access, of course).