Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,
I recently started noticing alot of noise being generated from my computer. And after opening it up, i had a look at the fan and it was caked in dust (ashamed! :upset: ) So i gave it as best a clean as i could, without actually removing the fan (im pretty new to computers and figured its best that way) and after some research i read up on some programmes to monitor temp. So i went ahead and downloaded Core Temp, and my average reading is sitting around 55 on core O and 57 on core 1, which again after some reading seems higher than usual. I also stumbled across a forum mentioning Prime95 for testing your cpu, and after reading up some, i went ahead and tested (no overclocking, just stock) and it shot up to 95c on core temp, and i ended the test there before it got any higher, seemed the safe thing to do.

Anyone got any ideas if this is safe? or a fix.
Im not the most computer literate person around, but ill give it my best to get you as much information as requested. thanks!
jon

·
Emeritus
51,675 Posts
Check your temps in the Bios.

PC Specs?
PreBuilt--Brand name & Model Number
Custom Build--Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.

·
Enthusiast
16,762 Posts
as said by Tyree check the temps in the BIOS

What are the specs of your system?

Your temps are too high but we need to know what may be causing it so give us the information asked for and we can help

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey thanks for the speedy replys, it was pre-built at a computer store. (not a brand like pc world, dell etc, just a place you could go and ask them to built you a computer tailored for your needs, eg Gaming, Business etc)

Straight from DXDIAG
BIOS: Default System Bios
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66Ghz (2CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Page file: 2624MB used, 3771MB Available
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Display