Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to networking , but I frekan love it~!! =] even tho its hard lol

IM ahving some trouble ... what I wanna do is create CERTAIN user permissions for my server I have in the other room

This PC's name is "dalepc" & the server name is "brucepc"

ON "brucepc"(the server) I try to add " dalepc" to the share permissions but it doesnt find it

how come~??

·
Global Moderator
Electronic Design
52,019 Posts
That's because NTFS permissions are on a user basis, not on a computer basis. The users that you're granting permission to have to have a user account on the machine you're configuring the permissions on.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Okay there are a few user accounts on "dalepc" that I have , there are 3 administrator accounts on here .

On "brucepc" ( the server pc ) it looks something like this:

First Screenshot

when i click Permissions under the "Sharing" tab , the share permissions box comes up , then when I click "add" , the "select users or groups " box comes up , but i dont see "dalepc" even when i click on " locations " , there is only " brucepc"

IM trying to share "FreeAgent Drive G" on "brucepc" to "dalepc" ... i am successful but its because the " everyone " group has all permissions ... but i only want DALEPC to access it & no other pcs

how can i get "dalepc" to access this HD and no one else~?? isnt there a way I can add "dalepc" to the user permission list or something like that~??

Second Screenshot

when i click on locations , only "brucepc" ( the server ) is there ..... where is dalepc lol ... there are a bunch of accounts on "dalepc" but even when i try to enter a user account where it says " Enter object names to select" box , it cant find the account name....

we're connected by a dlink router & both pc's have winxp sp2

helppppppp

·
Registered
2,973 Posts