Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I'm new to building PCs and have a basic queston...

I have a Chieftec Matrix Case and ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe MB...

When connecting the front case panel wiring (power, HDD, reset, etc.) to the Motherboard, which way to the leads attach to the MB?

Some leads have black and red wires or black and green wires, etc. -- which is positive and negative?

What about the wiring that has other combos, such as yellow and white for instance? which colors are +, which - ?? what color are ground wires?

The manuals are of no help and I've talked with folks who have given me different answers

Any help is appreciated....Thanks...

- Ken

·
Registered
17 Posts
well the chieftec case should have the same wiring as an antec which is what i have. First off the only things that are important to hook up are the positive and negative correctly for the led's on the front of the case but even if you screw up nothing is going to blow just switch them around. just make sure you don't put the wires on the wrong pins. well i can tell you from my experience all blacks are negative and all white's are negative. this does not hold true for the front mounted usb's and firewire if you have them.

·
Guru
1,315 Posts
twobucks is right. As he said, the reset & power switches aren't polarized, they can go either way because both sides of the switch should "float" (in my brief experience, neither side is grounded). Same goes for the speaker. (Chase the wires out to the switches/speaker if you have any doubt, and make sure nothing's grounded.)