Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the second time in a year, I've had to reinstall my computer with all original disks due to problems. This time when I reinstalled everything, I can't get onto Internet Explorer, it says "page cannot be display". However when I go to My Computer and type an address on the address bar, I can get on. However, eventually I get a blue screen with stop messages. How can that be? I loaded with all original disks. I've been working on this for 4 days and am about ready for the funny farm. I purchased Norton 2007 as I thought I had a virus and loaded that in. I have cable DSL and when I contacted my cable provider, two people told me that it's a problem with Internet Explorer missing a file or driver or something. Help!!! My computer is moving closer to the open window. I'm not an expert, so please be gentle!!!
Patti

·
Registered
50 Posts
I can't get onto Internet Explorer, it says "page cannot be display".
Can you explain in detail what this means? I can interpret it two different ways. Are you saying IE opens up, but won't get online, therefore you see the 'page can't be displayed' error? Or do mean IE won't even open?

I purchased Norton 2007 as I thought I had a virus and loaded that in.
Usually you cannot install antivirus software AFTER you are infected and expect it to work properly. At this point it may be too late.

Perhaps you could explain why you think you are infected, as this may be a clue as to what it going on.

I think the answer lies with your possible infection, or if it is hardware related then the answer lies on the blue screen.