Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
sorry for sounding like an idiot but i really need some help i have built my own computer got everything put together used the seagate cd to install my hard drives then i started windows installation and when it gets to the screen to choose a partition there is none there just says there is no disk in drive i have been using this acronis boot cd and hiren's boot cd trying to figure it out but i am just learning the whole software thing and i just cant get it to work btw on all the programs my host controller is shown as a unknown device and i have tried raid (raid 10) and non raid installation

technical info

hdd's: (4) seagate 400gb sata/300 sata connection
power supply: coolmax 1kw
mobo: intel d975xbx
ram: 2gb

no adapters used anywhere

only thing i can figure is a driver issue i hope thats all it is but i dont know maybe someone can help? thanks in advance my email is

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
You need to configure the RAID array before installing. If you have it non-RAID now, go back and configure the array. Then reboot to the Windows XP Pro CD. At the beginning of the installation you will see across the bottom a note that reads "press F6 to install third-party SCSI or RAID drivers". When you see that tap the F6 key a few times. Don't expect anything to happen at this point as a result of hitting this key. At the proper time Windows installation will ask you for the RAID drivers. Do you have a floppy drive? If so, have the RAID drivers on a floppy, and insert it when Windows installation asks for it. Without the RAID drivers the installation will not see the array, so it will come up with no disk. If you don't have a floppy, you'll need to post back and get other instructions for installing the RAID drivers.

·
Registered
25,116 Posts
Hello:

to expound on the info provided by Panama Gal (bullseye info A+)