Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HP DV9700 laptop's default harddrive just died and has all the recovery partitions on it. I do have the windows restore cds that I created from it (the ones that you can only create once), however I have never used them before and always formatted using f11. I get the boot.cde error that I googled and it was due to a failed harddrove so now I cannot format the computer.

So the question would be, if I get a new harddrive how would I put windows on it. Even if I just install windows on the new harddrive I would be missing device drivers than come from factory settings. What I want to do is refrain from purchasing a windows copy since I believe the windows restore cds that I created have them. So I guess the best solution would be to purchase a new harddrive, and I assume the restore cds would work if I place in the first dvd and it would boot.
EDIT:Windows Vista Home

·
Team Manager - Networking , Moderator - Micros
4,378 Posts
If you created restore cds and replace your hard drive, you should be able to put in disc 1 (or a disc that you were told to label as a Boot Disc), and boot to the cd to start the restore process. The version of Windows, any device drivers, files, etc., will be restored back to the way they were on the day you made the CDs.

I don't recall exactly how the HP process creates their images, but most utilities image everything on your hard drive, including the hidden restore partitions. You might even try booting to your 1st cd before you replace your drive to see what the steps are.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·