Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

newbie here, someone can help me out :). My desktop sudden won't turn on then I replace the power supply and power is back on however i see this message when screen boot up.

"Hard-disk drive failure
Diskette driver 0 seek failure"

press f1 to continue and f2 to enter SETUP. If i press F1 go back to the message above.

Dell Inspiron 530s desktop, window xp

many thanks

·
Moderator , - Microsoft Support
5,162 Posts
If you've verified that all devices are plugged in to power and the correct cable (ie floppy cable for floppy and ide/sata for HD), then it's possible that the power supply failing could have damaged the circuitry on the drives.

·
Banned
41 Posts
The error "DISKETTE Drive 0 Seek Failure" is referring to the FLOPPY drive 0 (or A:) and you should turn it 'off'.
I believe that you don't use any floppy drive (Due to a kind of old storage medium), so you may have to disable it right away by going to BIOS setup screen and see if the POST error goes away.

Let us know your progress.

·
Premium Member
41,899 Posts
Hard-disk drive failure Diskette driver 0 seek failure
As ajms1989 said, press F2 at bootup to enter Setup (Bios) Here first find Floppy Drive and Disable it. Then under the General heading. Does it show the HDD (it should be listed by manufacturer)? If not, then it is either unplugged, or it has failed.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi All

Thanks for replied;

I don't have floppy drive so i think i turn it off. i set the boot sequences the following

1. hard disk
2. cd rom
3. disable
4. disable..

I double check all the cables and everything is looking good. When I changed the power supply i remove the hard drive..possible the motherboard didn't recognize the hard drive? if yes how do i set it?

i also set "loading from the default" factory setting for start up and still got the same errors message.