Tech Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using the media player built in TV app for many years now to access the same external hard drive which would show all files without any issues until 2 days ago when I went into it and around 80 percent of the files no longer show. I checked the hard drive on computer and through a secondary option (That for some reason is only available on my downstairs TV?) and all the files still show and work like normal, I then unplugged the hard drive and wifi a few times to see if it would reset everything and noticed occasionally the file count would increase by 10 or so only on some resets but then go back down on other resets. For the life of me I can’t figure out what would be causing this issue as all the files are clearly sitting on the drive like normal but just not showing on the one TV access point I normally use, The one workaround would be to use the secondary access point which I have no problem with using however that for some reason only shows up on my downstairs TV and I use my upstairs TV the most so makes it difficult so I guess there’s 2 fixes here if anyone knows.

1. Find some way for all the files to show up like normal again on the main hard drive access point on TV

2. Somehow make that secondary hard drive access point show on the upstairs TV media player

·
Global Moderator
Using Google to solve problems
43,850 Posts
Move the files from the HDD to another drive temporarily. Put the drive on your computer and press the Windows key+X and choose Disk Management. In the lower pane Right click the external drive and choose Format. Format the drive FAT32 (the format that most TV's support) move your files back to the drive. The only Caveat is with the FAT32 File format you cannot move any files that are larger then 4GB to the drive. See how that goes.