Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have laptop here and I want to give my room a better sound distribution you know what I mean by that. Yeah I have 2 Sony speakers here you know the little speakers for surround. Well they aren't using the radio so I guess it's time to put those speakers in good use. So I bought 2 RCA jacks then solder the wires and sort of stuff then I purchased a 2 RCA to Stereo baby plug to connect to my laptops stereo jack. I thought it was a complete hackcessful but I can hear the sound when I place the speaker in my ears so hackilure. The speakers are both 8 impedance so I'm guessing that is 8ohms I'm not good at electronics even a perfect solder damn having a rough time. Took me 10mins just to solder the wires to the RCA's leg. So I'm guessing I need an amplifier to boost the juice out of my laptop going to the speakers. Well any advice at this point? thanks!!!

·
Deceased
14,580 Posts
Yes, they will not work. You need amplified ones. Does the old radio have a place like "Aux In" ? if so hook up the PC to the radio.

BG

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I see so I need an amplifier, I cant hack the radio coz it's too big. So I guess I need to buy an amplifier, Any suggestions? How much will it cost and the power that I need.

·
TSF - Enthusiast
7,670 Posts
Unless you can hack up an existing device, your best bet is probably one of any number of small electronic kits such as this 2 + 2 watt amp.

http://store.qkits.com/moreinfo.cfm/FK603

Depending on the power handling capability of the loudspeakers you have, you could go for a higher output.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
7 dollars well I'm gonna visit my nearest electronic shop... and buy one of those. I hope they got assembled ones because soldering them would be messy. heheheheehehehehehe...