Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am having a problem with Symantec Ghost v7.5. I am trying to copy all of the data on a 40GB WD HDD (about 75% full) to a new WD 200GB HDD. The partition contains Windows XP Pro SP1.

After Ghost completes the clone and I remove the 40GB HDD, Windows will not boot. It begins to boot, I get the first windows is loading screen, and then it resets. The same happens when I attempt to boot into safemode.

The motherboard is an Asus P4PE. The BIOS recognizes the 200GB HDD fine.

Ghost is version 7.5. This is from Symantec's Knowledge Base here.
Norton Ghost 2003 and Ghost 7.5
These versions of Ghost support large hard drives. Windows XP with Service Pack (SP) 1 and Windows 2000 with SP3 supports 48-Bit Logical Block Addressing (LBA), which is required for drives larger than 137 gigabytes (GB). Because Ghost works in DOS, the partition is placed correctly on the drive, however, Windows XP with SP1 or Windows 2000 with SP3 must be the operating system.
I have attempted this twice with the same results. Is it possible to do a repair install? When I try to reinstall XP it says that it will need to delete the Windows directory.

I do still have access to a working copy of Windows when I plug in the 40GB as master.

Any ideas?

All help is appreciated.
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Welcome to Tech Support Forums enderzero.....:D

What file system is XP using? NTFS or FAT32?
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
I'm not really sure if 7.5 supports NTFS........:no:

I had to go out and buy Ghost 2003 to do mine......:D
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Windows file systems
Ghost supports native cloning for the following file systems: FAT8, FAT12, FAT16, FAT32, FAT64, NTFS.

Though Ghost can clone NTFS partitions, Ghost cannot save an image file directly to an NTFS partition except in the following circumstances:

You use a corporate version of Ghost and save the image over a network connection that is not peer to peer.
You use Norton Ghost 2003. Norton Ghost 2003 can save image files directly to local NTFS partitions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks, but I am not saving an image to an NTFS partition. I am cloning a drive, which Ghost 7.5 should be able to handle no problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I tried creating a 40GB partition and ghosting to that. Same results. Windows boots a little and then resets.

:confused:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
SOLUTION

I solved the problem...but first some interesting observations:

Observations Same results were encountered when ghosting to any kind of Partition on the 200GB Drive. With the image already ghosted, I hooked the 200GB up to a Promise TX2 controller card. I had the same result when I booted to the drive. Then I tried ghosting to the drive with it still on the TX2. When this was completed I booted, and it worked! But I did not want to keep the TX2 in the system, so I put it back on the motherboard's controller. Then when I booted I had the earlier reset result. When I put the 200GB back on the controller I received a registry corruption error and was not able to boot. So I ghosted again with the 200GB on the TX2, and when it was done it booted just fine. But that is a work around, and I wanted solution.

SOLUTION Booting to the 40GB and poking around (I just wanted to be 100% sure it was SP1) I noticed that the PC had Intel Application Accelerator 2.2x on it. D'OH! Versions of this sw below 2.3beta are apparently known to cause problems with drives bigger than 137GB. I hooked the 200GB back up on the TX2, uninstalled Intel Application Accelerator, and then rebooted. After I was sure it was fully uninstalled I took out the TX2 and hooked it back up to the MB controller. Wham Bam it booted. Problem solved. :D

Stupid, stupid software :winkgrin:
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top