Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm a PC support technician whose client continues to receive these Generic Host Process errors within an hour of using IE. This originally started after he hired Symantec support for a remote support session and had them clean up a virus. I was brought in after this was all done so I'm not sure what virus he had (nothing in the log files).

I've gotten him set up on Firefox now which does not generate these errors, so he's functioning for now, but he would still like to be able to use IE when needed so I'm hoping to find out how to help him.

Here's what I've done so far:

Upgraded Win XP Home to SP2 (it had no SPs installed)
Upgraded IE from 6 to 7
Used the "Restore Defaults" in Security settings of IE.
Ran Spybot S&D which found IE settings changes, allowed them to be restored through Spybot.
Ran Ad-Aware, no pests found.
Ran HJT, no suspicious entries listed.
Performed a full virus scan in Safe Mode with System Restore disabled. No virus found. (remember, this was AFTER Symantec cleaned his system)

Client is on dialup Internet access, but this will soon change to DSL.

Here is the syntax of the error he receives when he uses IE:
=====================
Generic Host Process for Win32 Services

Generic Host Process for Win32 Services has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience …

Error signature:
szAppName: szAppVer: 0.0.0.0 sModName: unknown
szModVer: 0.0.0.0 offset: 00000000

Technical information about the error report:

Error Report Contents
The following files will be included in this error report:

c:\documents and settings\jerry rosen\local settings\temp\wer4A.tmp.dir00\svchost.exe.mdmp
c:\document\jerryrosen\locals\temp\wer4A.tmp.dir00\appcompat.txt
==========================