Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey people this is my first build so i want to do this right!! Help me out...
Here is my problem, i have an ECS L7S7A2 MoBo with and AMD Athlon Xp2600+ and 512 mb DDR2700 i have installed everything correctly but when i look into bios or into system it says im running a XP2000+ at 1.67Ghz this is a pretty big fall in power .. why is this i am stumped have been looking everywhere on the internet and have not found anything like my problem some that are kinda like it but nothing that hits it right on the head.. Is this because im running at a low FSB speed (133 mhz) or the CPU/DRAM clock ration is wrong which is at i belive 1:1 by default .. which i might add everything is at default.. i dont have the Brass just to start playing with bios without hardcore correct information. please help me!!
thanks Robert-:confused:

·
Guru
1,315 Posts
Half the time what it tells you in Control Panel- System is bogus. All through the years there have always been problems with Windows misinterpreting what it's got in it. They must "build" the Windows software at some point in time, and they probably make some effort to figure out what CPU's are known at that time, and what's in the pipe. Then years later, new CPU's come along, but the same old Windows is still on the shelf. It's not clairvoyant. It probably prints whatever the max was when it was built.

So don't put too much faith in what it says here. If you're not getting the performance you expect, then you can start to investigate. 1.6 is still pretty respectable for running 2000; I have a 1.8 at work, loaded down with corporate software and it's totally fine.

Don't mess with the BIOS, I don't think there's a need here.

-clintfan

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·