Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a acer aspire timline 4810tz-4508. i decided to spend the $400.00 for the upgrade. I am not worried about installing it but I want to make sure it works. Is anyone an expert here?

Do I need to do anything with the Bio's? I am not an expert but I definitely know enough to install. I have done it many times before but I want this to go right due to the costs.

Please help if you can.

[email protected]
 

·
Emeritus
Joined
·
51,675 Posts
That laptop accepts 4GB of RAM Max.
Each memory slot can hold DDR3 PC3-10600,DDR3 PC3-8500 with a maximum of 2GB per slot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think you are mistaken. I purchased this specifically to upgrade to 8 gb when I could afford it. This is from their support site

http://us.acer.com/acer/productv.do...&ctx1.att21k=1&CRC=2474330251#wrAjaxHistory=0

Memory Up to 4GB (2GB installed in each of two memory slots) DDR3 1066 SDRAM

64-bit OS: user upgradeable up to 8GB (one 4GB memory card in each slot) subject to availability of 4GB cards*
or
32-bit OS: user upgradeable up to 4GB (one 2GB memory card in each slot) subject to availability of 2GB cards*

*If upgrading after initial purchase, one or more of the memory cards provided with the system may have to be replaced with optional larger memory cards in order to achieve the maximum capacity.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I still need your expertise assuming I can upgrade. I have added extra ram a bunch of times to many notebooks, and desktops but this is making me nervous b/c this particular upgrade seems like its risky.
 

·
Emeritus
Joined
·
51,675 Posts
I stand corrected and thank you for pointing that out. I got my info from Crucial but they made no mention of a 64Bit OS model accepting more RAM.
However, 4GB of RAM is more than sufficient. There are no apps or games that can use more than 4GB of RAM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
please note that i was not trying to correct you. I am using this for my business and not for gaming.

will the extra 4 gb (8 gb ttl) help? Or should I cancel my shipment.

I dont want to spend the extra $$$ if its not worth it.

Thanks for your help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
here are my bios...can this work

DMI
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

DMI BIOS
vendor INSYDE
version V1.28.
date 08/17/2009

DMI System Information
manufacturer Acer
product Aspire 4810T
version V1.28.
serial LXPDN0200393510B382000
UUID 1016FF80-946711DE-B567AAC1-F07C30FA

DMI Baseboard
vendor Acer
model Aspire 4810T
revision Base Board Version
serial LXPDN0200393510B382000

DMI System Enclosure
manufacturer Chassis Manufacturer
chassis type 1X
chassis serial Chassis Serial Number

DMI Memory Controller
correction unknown
Max module size 4096 MBytes

DMI Extension Slot
designation J6B2
type A5
populated no

DMI Extension Slot
designation J6B1
type A5
populated no

DMI Extension Slot
designation J6C2
type A5
populated no

DMI Extension Slot
designation J7B1
type A5
populated no

DMI Extension Slot
designation J8B3
type A5
populated no

DMI Extension Slot
designation J8D1
type A5
populated no

DMI OEM Strings
string[0] String1 for Original Equipment Manufacturer
string[1] String2 for Original Equipment Manufacturer
string[2] String3 for Original Equipment Manufacturer
string[3] String4 for Original Equipment Manufacturer
string[4] String5 for Original Equipment Manufacturer

DMI Physical Memory Array
location Motherboard
usage System Memory
correction None
max capacity 8192 MBytes
max# of devices 2

DMI Memory Module
designation DIMM0
size 2048 MBytes (single bank)

DMI Memory Device
designation DIMM0
format SODIMM
type unknown
data width 65508 bits
size 2048 MBytes

DMI Memory Module
designation DIMM2
size 2048 MBytes (single bank)

DMI Memory Device
designation DIMM2
format SODIMM
type unknown
data width 65508 bits
size 2048 MBytes

DMI Processor
manufacturer Intel(R) Corporation
model Genuine Intel(R) CPU U4100 @ 1.30GHz
clock speed 1200.0 MHz
FSB speed 800.0 MHz
multiplier 1.5x


Graphics
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Number of adapters 1

Graphic APIs
-------------------------------------------------------------------------


Display Adapters
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Display adapter 0
Display name \\.\DISPLAY1
Name Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Memory size 1821 MB
PCI device bus 0 (0x0), device 2 (0x2), function 0 (0x0)
Vendor ID 0x8086 (0x1025)
Model ID 0x2A42 (0x22A)
Performance Level 0


Software
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Windows Version Microsoft Windows 7 (6.1) Home Premium Edition (Build 7600)
DirectX Version 10.0
 

·
Emeritus
Joined
·
51,675 Posts
Acer says it will work so I have to assume that it will.
No, the extra 4GB will not help you.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top