Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello im a newbie so if i have this in the wrong forum, sorry :tongue2: anyway i had windows XP installed on my hard-drive and i decided to format it because it was getting too cluttered and it had messed up because of it. I found a diskette near my computer which said "master CD" on it, so i put it in and MS-DOS appeared and told me the Windows 98 CD was loading, halfway through loading it said "cannot detect CD-ROM please check cables and try again" i checked them and they were all plugged in so i carried on with the disk and i typed: A:\Format C: it gave me a warning that everything on my hard-drive will be deleted if i carried on so i carried on, it formatted my hard-drive, deleted everything etc. i restarted my computer and tooki the diskette out and put the windows XP CD in and instead of asking me if i wanted to boot from hard-drive or CD-ROM the computer just said "invalid system disk. please insert disk and press any key to continue" does anyone know how i can install windows back onto my hard-drive? ive followed the same steps as before when i formatted it and its not working this time for some strange reason. :no:

·
Registered
126 Posts
First make sure that your computer is set to boot from the CD this should be made the first bootable drive. Have a look at the boot order in your bios, reset it to boot from the CD first. Then restart the unit with the CD in the drive, I would suggest a cold restart.
If your still having problems let us know.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i tried changing it earlier, the boot sequence at the moment is

1. Floppy Drive
2. Hard-drive

CD-ROM is not listed anywhere

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6