Tech Support banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Firefox in x64Win10ProV21H1 would not open the functional window that I expect after clicking on 'Show All Bookmarks'; eventually I used Revo Uninstaller to remove it, and installed Firefox v89. Since that did not fix the problem, I used Revo again to uninstall it, and also deleted all the Firefox entries that RegScanner found in the Registry. Some 10 entries resisted deletion – most related to Avast. Another re-install improved the situation in no way - it updated to v90. Launching Firefox in Safe Mode (by holding SHIFT down) does no better. Is there a solution to this ?
 

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
If you did not delete your User profile, when uninstalling Firefox, then re-installing a new version will not get rid of the problem, since it's usually a corrupted User profile that is the source of most Firefox problems.

Of course, if you delete your User profile you'll lose your bookmarks, so ideally it would be best if you could export them before you do so. Sadly in your case that does not seem likely, since your problem would suggest that your Bookmarks appear to be the most likely source of corruption.

Hopefully you had the good sense to back them up, because if not it seems likely that you've lost them.

May I ask why you're using Avast, because IMO the average Windows user has no need for a 3rd party AV. Microsoft Defender is perfectly adequate protection, and generally causes far fewer problems, something that could not be said for Avast.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did not delete my profile - but am quite willing to. Loss of bookmarks is no issue, because I was trying to replace them anyway. I know that Firefox/Mozilla has a file with a name that includes 'profile'. Is removing the Mozilla profile enough, or did you mean my Microsoft/Windows profile ? What are the precise steps to achieve you suggestion ?

I'm using Avast because it was recommended to me by my PC Guru, after he found fault with Avira. Dont know 'IMO'.
Defender is very ruthless and unforgiving, whereas Avast allows more leeway in deciding what to quarantine.
 

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
I'm talking about your Firefox profile.

To find its location do the following ...


... you can back this up before you delete it, just in case it's not the source of the problem, in which case you can restore it.


Avast often seems to comes up when people are having unusual problems. If this is the first real problem you've had with your computer since installing it, then I'd say leave it alone. If however, in the future, you experience more, you might want to consider uninstalling it.

If you do, then do not use the onboard uninstaller, since it doesn't do a very good job, instead use the following tool created by Avast which usually does a much better job ....

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I said that I uninstalled it completely twice - surely that deletes the profile ! - I even cleared out the Registry to the extent that I could
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
This time, after uninstalling with Revo, I even searched for 'Firefox' & 'Mozilla' in Explore and deleted all references, and did another registry cleanout for those terms; but after re-install there was no improvement.
 

·
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Joined
·
29,212 Posts
Type or paste %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ in your Start menu. Don't hit enter. If anything shows, you haven't deleted your FF Profile.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
"Type into start menu" - do you mean the Windows Search Tool (Cortana ) ?

That is where I typed it, and the response is "Preview for %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\" is not available right now,
even though Firefox opens (with the disabled Bookmarks Manager) !

To me that points to the opposite problem - there is NO profile instead of a persistent one.
 

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
OK, let's have a look and see if there's any Firefox remnants that may be causing problems. To do that please do the following, which will list any files, folders, and registry entries present on your machine ....


  • Download FRST64 to your Desktop.
  • Double click Frst64.exe to launch it.
  • FRST will start to run.
    • When the tool opens click Yes to the disclaimer.
    • Copy/Paste or Type the following line into the Search: box.
    SearchAll:Mozilla;Firefox
    • Press the Search Files button.
    • When finished searching a log will open on your Desktop ... Search.txt
    • Please post it in your next reply.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Since you mention 'files left', I uninstalled Firefox again and cleared the registry to the extent I could first with Revo; also did an Explorer search and deleted all except what have nothing to do with RUNNING Furefox. Farbar 'log' attached.
 

Attachments

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
Question ..... do you have any Mozilla programs installed other than Firefox ?

For example Thunderbird.

I ask this so that I do not script for removal something that may be needed for it to function.

Your log shows quite a few remnants, but many are not Firefox specific, and are common to more than one Mozilla product.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
No other Mozilla programs installed BY ME - but I notice that maintenance programs (?) get installed automatically.
 

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
OK, what I suggest we do to start, is to just remove any files and registry settings directly related to firefox, and see whether that resolves things.

If not, then we can expand to remove all the found Mozilla remnants as well.

FRST quarantines anything it removes, so they can generally be restored if the removals cause problems. I say generally, because when restoring anything, problems do occasionally occur.

I'll post back once I've written the "fix".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
I said in my post that I had already cleared out all I could from the file system and the registry before I ran Farbar.
Or are you telling me that Farbar can be told to delete some entries it found ?
 

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
I said in my post that I had already cleared out all I could from the file system and the registry before I ran Farbar.
Or are you telling me that Farbar can be told to delete some entries it found ?
Yes, FRST can be scripted to remove entries, and from the log you supplied there are a number still to be removed.


OK, here goes with the Firefox remnants ...

  • Start FRST in a similar manner to when you ran a scan earlier, but this time when it opens ....
  • Press Ctrl+y (Ctrl and y keys at the same time)
  • A blank randomly named .txt Notepad file will open.
  • Copy and paste the following into it (don't include Code: ) ....
Code:
C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_netfx4-browser_files_b03f5f7f11d50a3a_4.0.15805.0_none_04f1e78822144171\firefox.browser
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks_Migrated\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB
C:\Utilities\64bit\Firefox
C:\Utilities\32bit\Shortcuts\Browsers\Mozilla Firefox.lnk
C:\Data\Firefox

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Mozilla\Firefox]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Mozilla\Firefox]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\RADAR\HeapLeakDetection\DiagnosedApplications\firefox.exe]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\Firefox-308046B0AF4A39CB]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 88.0.1]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Classes\Applications\firefox.exe]
DeleteValue: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\RuntimeExceptionHelperModules|C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\mozwer.dll
  • Press Ctrl+s to save fixlist.txt
NOTICE: This script was written specifically for this user. Running it on another machine may cause damage to your operating system
  • Now press the Fix button once and wait.
  • FRST will process fixlist.txt
  • When finished, it will produce a log fixlog.txt in the same folder/directory as FRST64.exe
  • Please post me the log

I have not included any entry related to Avast, and there are a considerable number of these, as I do not know what effect removing them will have on Avast.

Avast could of course be directly related to the problem you're experiencing. So if necessary are you prepared to uninstall it ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Yes, no problem uninstalling Avast.

Fix result of Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (x64) Version: 14-07-2021
Ran by 64bit (18-07-2021 17:08:07) Run:1
Running from D:\Farbar
Loaded Profiles: 64bit
Boot Mode: Normal
==============================================

fixlist content:
*

*


==== End of Fixlog 17:08:08 ====
 

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
Looks like the fix didn't run correctly, if it had then the fixlog would have shown a list of the instructions I scripted for it, plus the results of running the script.


So let's try again, using these slightly modified instructions.

Open a notepad file, and copy/paste the following into it (don't include Code: )....

Code:
C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_netfx4-browser_files_b03f5f7f11d50a3a_4.0.15805.0_none_04f1e78822144171\firefox.browser
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks_Migrated\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB
C:\Utilities\64bit\Firefox
C:\Utilities\32bit\Shortcuts\Browsers\Mozilla Firefox.lnk
C:\Data\Firefox

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Mozilla\Firefox]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Mozilla\Firefox]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\RADAR\HeapLeakDetection\DiagnosedApplications\firefox.exe]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\Firefox-308046B0AF4A39CB]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 88.0.1]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Classes\Applications\firefox.exe]
DeleteValue: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\RuntimeExceptionHelperModules|C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\mozwer.dll
..... save as fixlist.txt to the same location as FRST,

Next ...


Launch FRST, and click on the Fix button.
Frst will process the fixlist and produce a fixlog.txt
Please post it in your next reply.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
I did it again with your new (?) code and got the same empty result. When I press CTRL Y a notepad file opens with a ready-made name - are you sure you want me to change that to 'fixlist.txt' ?
 

·
Moderator , Security Team
Joined
·
1,261 Posts
Sorry to be late getting back to you. Got called away and just got back.

Do not follow the instructions in post #15

DO
follow the instructions in post #17 which are not the same as the earlier post.

In the first post FRST opens a Notepad file for you when you hit Ctrl+Y, and names it randomly. In the later set of instructions YOU open Notepad manually, and YOU need to name it fixlist.txt and save it to the same location as FRST.

FRST recognises that name and will act on it when you hit the Fix button.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
I had done that before
Sorry to be late getting back to you. Got called away and just got back.

Do not follow the instructions in post #15

DO
follow the instructions in post #17 which are not the same as the earlier post.

In the first post FRST opens a Notepad file for you when you hit Ctrl+Y, and names it randomly. In the later set of instructions YOU open Notepad manually, and YOU need to name it fixlist.txt and save it to the same location as FRST.

FRST recognises that name and will act on it when you hit the Fix button.

Fix result of Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (x64) Version: 14-07-2021
Ran by 64bit (19-07-2021 08:57:31) Run:3
Running from C:\Utilities\64bit\Farbar
Loaded Profiles: 64bit
Boot Mode: Normal
==============================================

fixlist content:
*
C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_netfx4-browser_files_b03f5f7f11d50a3a_4.0.15805.0_none_04f1e78822144171\firefox.browser
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks_Migrated\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB
C:\Utilities\64bit\Firefox
C:\Utilities\32bit\Shortcuts\Browsers\Mozilla Firefox.lnk
C:\Data\Firefox

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Mozilla\Firefox]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Mozilla\Firefox]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\RADAR\HeapLeakDetection\DiagnosedApplications\firefox.exe]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\Firefox-308046B0AF4A39CB]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 88.0.1]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Classes\Applications\firefox.exe]
DeleteValue: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\RuntimeExceptionHelperModules|C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\mozwer.dll
*

"C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_netfx4-browser_files_b03f5f7f11d50a3a_4.0.15805.0_none_04f1e78822144171\firefox.browser" => not found
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks_Migrated\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB => moved successfully
C:\Windows\System32\Tasks\Mozilla\Firefox Default Browser Agent 308046B0AF4A39CB => moved successfully
"C:\Utilities\64bit\Firefox" => not found
"C:\Utilities\32bit\Shortcuts\Browsers\Mozilla Firefox.lnk" => not found
"C:\Data\Firefox" => not found
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0 => removed successfully
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Mozilla\Firefox => removed successfully
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Mozilla\Firefox => removed successfully
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\RADAR\HeapLeakDetection\DiagnosedApplications\firefox.exe => removed successfully
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\Firefox-308046B0AF4A39CB => not found
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 88.0.1 => not found
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox 90.0 => not found
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1161377928-100096128-3991036370-1001\SOFTWARE\Classes\Applications\firefox.exe => not found
"HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\RuntimeExceptionHelperModules\\C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\mozwer.dll" => removed successfully

==== End of Fixlog 08:57:31 ====
 
1 - 20 of 51 Posts
Top