Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdie all :tongue:
I'm new here and kind of a total newb if you may. Treat me gentle hehe :smooch:. Hope this is the correct forum to post in, if not I'm sorry ^^.

Anyway the situation is as follows. I have a western digital 250GB hard drive in a DigiConnect enclosure which I use as an external drive via an usb cable. Now I've been experiencing problems with it for well over a few months but now I'm really sick of it hence this post.

At first I would have no problems at all, using usb2.0 to copy files and transfer data in between my external (E:\) and C:\ drive. Though after a while my PC kept freezing completely and coming to a stand still whenever I would copy a big file. After a while it didn't stop at that, I wouldn't be able to play music files on E:\ without my computer rebooting itself.

I disabled the reboot automaticly option and instead I get BSODs now. I've had one where it said 'CODE_USB_DRIVER' and one with 'VER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL'. Looked all over google and microsoft support sites but couldn't find a solution.

Now lately I've found out that whenever I do some kind of action on my E:\ drive my CPU usage in Task Manager gets dramatically high. For example; I would just open up a map on my E:\ drive and the CPU usage would go to 30%... No wonder my computer crashes if I want to copy a file.

What I tried: Basically just tried to update as much drivers as I could. And according to DriverAgent.com the only drivers I have that aren't up to date are:

IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
VIA Bus Master IDE Controller

Monitors
Plug en Play-monitor

Network adapters
Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC

Haven't been able to find correct drivers to get them up to date, no idea if they are very important to update though?