Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,this is my first time using this website. :wave:
Anyways, my computers have been working fine for the past few years. However, when i wake up this morning, both my desktop and laptop had issues.

First of all with my desktop (window vistas), it's unable to boot and it has never happened before. I made sure that all the power supply are on, and that the wires are firmly plucked in. The voltage should be the same since it has been working fine for the past years. The wires itself seems to have no damage from the looks of it. Basically, when i click the power switch, there is no sound of fans starting, light appearing, or any activity that indicates the starting of the desktop. What should I do? I suspect that the power switch or in worst case, the motherboard has problems...

As for my laptop, I am able to boot it. However, when I first booted it this morning there was no detection of any harddrive, and there was nothing except for recycling bin. I tried to restart it, and it seemed to work fine now, but one of the harddrives (D), is missing. My C drive is still there though.

At the moment I am more worried about my desktop, and deep thanks to anyone who can help me :)

·
TSF - Enthusiast
1,835 Posts
For the desktop, it could be various things. Without seeing it, I would guess that either your power supply has died or your motherboard. Just because it's been working fine for years does not mean that today wouldn't be the day the part failed. It happens. How old is the computer? What brand is it?

·
Registered
720 Posts
As Diafne said, if you're getting no signs of life at all and you're 100% certain everything is connected properly, the PSU or MoBo is dead.

What are the specs including the PSU?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·