Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am really hoping someone can help me out with this as it is driving me mad!

Before I start I would like to point out that I am a fairly experienced PC engineer, I have built nearly 200 PCs so I am hoping the fault is not caused but something stupid that I have done, but I won't rule it out!

Anyway I have just completed a new system based around an Athlon64 3000. The drives are 200GB Maxtor ATA and a LiteOn CD/DVD RW Combi drive. When I first start the system up and install windows XP (Home edition in this case) all is well.

Once the customer has had the PC for a few days it starts to freeze when playing DVDS or any media files from the optical drive.

I have had the computer back three times I have been through every combination of master / slave and primary / secondary bus configurations but the problem always seems to re occur.

If I re install windows the problem is cured but seems to re occur after a few days. Incidentally there doesn't seem to be any problems reading the windows CD whilst installing. However when the fault occurs I have tried to copy a couple of 500K jpgs from DVD to the desktop and it took about 3 minutes which is obviously way too long.

I have tried new IDE cables, I have tried connecting with different connector on the IDE cable.

At the moment I have the HD set to master on Primary IDE with the CD/DVD set to slave on the primary IDE. Is there an advantage to going for CS maybe? Although I have tried it doesn't work. Could it be a problem with the IDE controller on the M/Board?

I can't think of what else to try so would appreciate any help and hints!

Thanks guys!

·
Premium Member
78,003 Posts
i usually put the cd on the second eide as master
try another cd drive
try another video card
test the ram
check what they have loaded onto the computer after returning it to them
do you use quality p/s

·
Registered