Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I have an older Windows XP machine that I would like to dual boot with Linux Ubuntu.

I have one drive and Windows XP running on the comp right now. I have some experience working with comps (added RAM, switched motherboards, video card, etc.) but have never done any HD stuff.

From my small amount of experience I can tell that I need to hook the second drive up to an IDE cable.

Would I use primary or secondary? Currently I have a CD-RW drive and DVD-ROM drive hooked up to secondary IDE. The HD with Windows is the only one on primary.

Also, would this drive be set as master or slave or what?

What exactly would be the best way to install the other drive?

Thanks a lot!

·
Registered
87 Posts
Keep your optical drives on you secondary IDE cable. I'd recommend removing your XP drive, hooking up the second drive and installing Ubuntu. Then hook the XP drive back on your primary IDE cable. Be sure to set one drive as primary and the other as secondary using the jumpers on the disks. It doesn't matter which is primary and which is secondary.
Alternatively, you can create a virtual machine. Although the software is not free (at least none that I know of), it's easier to work with. Keep your one XP drive and create a simulated hardware environment with the virtual machine software. It is exactly like having 2 (or more if you want more) OS's on separate physical hardware, but it's the same hardware. You don't have to worry about configuring BIOS and restarting your comp to load the other OS. XP would be your main OS (loads it during booting), and through XP you can load a fully functional Ubuntu.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)