Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a NetGear R6620 router connected to a ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (Spectrum TWC). Every day practically I lose internet browsing across all devices (wired + wireless) due to a DNS (bad probe) error in the browser. I need to log-on to the router, go to connection status and refresh the lease between the router and the modem - then all is back up.

This only started occurring a few weeks back. Any ideas to permanently fix this?
 

·
TSF Team, Emeritus
Joined
·
54,257 Posts
and welcome to the Forum

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type or copy and paste the following command:

ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0

and press enter.

Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 23:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 16-E5-43-DD-56-06
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A0-B3-CC-49-3F-10
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::351e:12d6:f630:e822%19(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.15(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 8:30:50 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 23, 2016 8:31:09 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 262190028
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-09-C2-2C-A0-B3-CC-49-3F-10
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-E5-43-DD-56-06
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth PAN HelpText
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-E5-43-DD-84-82
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {480C011B-3175-4C05-ABF0-D1A0490B3FF9}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:388a:3603:3f57:fef0(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::388a:3603:3f57:fef0%2(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 83886080
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-09-C2-2C-A0-B3-CC-49-3F-10
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I already changed the router DNS to Google from TWC preferred. That failed to fix anything. I have multiple devices on the home network and it's a mission to change the DNS on everything from laptops, tablets to IP cameras.

I'll try it on this laptop and see if anything changes.
 

·
TSF Team, Emeritus
Joined
·
54,257 Posts
If you have the router set to look to Google for DNS, changing the pc is not likely to make a difference . . let' see what hoops it is jumping thru . .

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type or Copy and Paste the following" and press enter


echo > 0 & PING 192.168.1.1 >> 0 & PING 216.58.199.174 >> 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & tracert google.com >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0


That can take a few minutes to complete, come back and past the result in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
"refresh the lease between the router and the modem - then all is back up"

This is not a gateway or pc problem. Its between the modem and router dealing with renewal of the wan port ip address.

I would suggest connecting directly to the modem with the pc. See if you lose connectivity after awhile like the router does. if you do replace the modem. if not replace the router or see if there is a firmware update for the router that addresses this problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
"refresh the lease between the router and the modem - then all is back up"

This is not a gateway or pc problem. Its between the modem and router dealing with renewal of the wan port ip address.

I would suggest connecting directly to the modem with the pc. See if you lose connectivity after awhile like the router does. if you do replace the modem. if not replace the router or see if there is a firmware update for the router that addresses this problem.
Thanks - can I get the same info from the modem logs? See if there are disconnects from the modem to the ISP? Same for the router - will the logs indicate an issue with the router and/or modem?

I'm just seeing if I can avoid pulling the wi-fi network down for a day to monitor the issue on a single laptop via ethernet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
If you have the router set to look to Google for DNS, changing the pc is not likely to make a difference . . let' see what hoops it is jumping thru . .

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type or Copy and Paste the following" and press enter


echo > 0 & PING 192.168.1.1 >> 0 & PING 216.58.199.174 >> 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & tracert google.com >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0


That can take a few minutes to complete, come back and past the result in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
Sure - eher you go:

ECHO is on.

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

Pinging 216.58.199.174 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=269ms TTL=39
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=266ms TTL=39
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=267ms TTL=39
Reply from 216.58.199.174: bytes=32 time=268ms TTL=39

Ping statistics for 216.58.199.174:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 266ms, Maximum = 269ms, Average = 267ms

Pinging google.com [216.58.194.142] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 216.58.194.142: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.58.194.142: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.58.194.142: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.58.194.142: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 216.58.194.142:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 13ms, Average = 11ms

Tracing route to google.com [216.58.194.142]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 11 ms 7 ms 8 ms 142.254.131.185
3 243 ms 54 ms 21 ms tge0-0-4.mckntxwf01h.texas.rr.com [24.28.88.129]
4 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms agg23.plantxmp01r.texas.rr.com [24.175.49.225]
5 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms agg27.crtntxjt01r.texas.rr.com [24.175.36.177]
6 20 ms 13 ms 15 ms agg21.dllatxl301r.texas.rr.com [24.175.49.0]
7 18 ms 17 ms 13 ms bu-ether14.dllstx976iw-bcr00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.88]
8 14 ms 11 ms 11 ms 207.86.208.49
9 15 ms 14 ms 15 ms 207.86.208.38
10 13 ms 10 ms 8 ms 108.170.240.65
11 11 ms 19 ms 13 ms 209.85.250.83
12 11 ms 11 ms 15 ms dfw06s49-in-f14.1e100.net [216.58.194.142]

Trace complete.
[/php]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
logs are always a great way to start. post them for review

real question is why isn't the wan port ip address being renewed automatically. You do have it set to auto right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
logs are always a great way to start. post them for review

real question is why isn't the wan port ip address being renewed automatically. You do have it set to auto right?
So here's the thing - there is no option (as far as I can see) to set any lease refresh time. The only setting relative to the WAN or internet are:

Does your Internet connection require a login?
Account Name(If Required)
Domain Name(If Required)

Internet IP Address
Get Dynamically from ISP
Use Static IP Address

Domain Name Server (DNS) Address
Get Automatically from ISP
Use These DNS Servers

Router MAC Address

Use Default Address
Use Computer MAC Address
Use This MAC Address

Under WAN settings:


Disable Port Scan and DoS Protection
Default DMZ Server
Respond to Ping on Internet Port
MTU Size (in bytes)

NAT Filtering SecuredOpen
Disable SIP ALG
Disable IGMP Proxying
VPN Passthrough
IPSec Passthrough
PPTP Passthrough
L2TP Passthrough

I've trawled the manual and can't see any options there either:

http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/R6220/R6220_UM_4nov2014.pdf

So in terms of lease options I'm at a loss with that one.

Under connection status all it returns is:

Lease Obtained 0 days,17 hrs,14 minutes
Lease Expires 0 days,15 hrs,23 minutes

Top of that are release & renew buttons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
Call your ISP. Lease length is set by them which is why you aren't finding anything. Less than 72 hours is absurd. You are getting less than a day for renewal.

I suspect the problem is they are oversubscribed/dhcp is misconfigured which results in no ip addresses being available when the lease starts to be renewed which is at the half way point/8.5hrs.

Normally you get the same ip address and it just auto renews. This is the normal operation.

Fact this isn't happening is a problem at their end imo.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top