Tech Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My spouse who is my hardware guy is hospitalized and I don't want to upset him with this little piece of news. I rec'd my TPM 2.0 module for my MSI motherboard. I found where the module is located on the schematic. It slid right into place. I was proud, except when I went to turn on the PC.Its entirely dead. My monitor comes on so that's working. What ever I did is the issue because the PC was working last night. I know he'd know what to do, but I can;t do that to him and ask him what I should try next. I took the module out, but the darn thing still is totally dead. It's the correct module because I called MSI before I bought it. I am not good with hardware at all. Did I damage my PC? I touched nothing but the module, by the way.

·
TSF Moderator , Hardware Team , Networking Team
8,854 Posts
If you were not wearing an anti-static device (anti-static wrist strap) there is the possibility of an accidental electrostatic discharge (static electricity).

There is also the possibility of simply knocking something loose somewhere. What I recommend is waiting for someone familiar with working inside of computers to take a look and see if they can help locate the problem.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for answering. He just rebuilt my PC with new MB, CPU & memory and this is how I tried to help. I just hope I didn't do too much damage. No strap. I touched the chassis and the module only. I'll need to call for some assistance. I'm not good with hardware. All the more reason I should have not tried to get involved.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·