Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm a Charter tech in TN and i'm trying to get some info to help out quite alot of customers that seem to been having the same issues. This is nothing that my higher-ups are willing to assist with because it seems that it is a customer issue. I have went to school over computer repair and I hate not being able to tell the customer what exactly is wrong. Here goes... What we are seeing is that the pc in question is locking into a standard public address- 169.254.-.-. No matter what we try, it still remains the same. We have removed the modem from the accounts and reprovisioned them (reset them up on the customer's account) and still the same. If we hook up a different computer to the modem it will come up fine. This issue is that it lacks the gateway and dns numbers to connect to the net. I have even gone as far as reinstalling the nic cards and reinstalling windows. I'm pretty stumped on what to do next because this seems to be happening more and more often and I really want to help instead of telling them it's not Charter's problem. Any help would be great.

Thanks,
Chris

·
Citizen of the world
51,042 Posts
If you have done a total reinstall, and the connection and the cable have been tested with other computers, I'd have to start suspecting the NIC. OTOH, if this is happening to a lot of computers, there's no telling what it might be and if it's a common issue, or each of the instances is unique. There are many reasons for this to happen.

Next time it happens, try one of these repairs on the system in question, here's one for XP and Vista.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.