Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tried to boot in to debian the other day, and I found it wouldn't start up. To my knowledge I hadn't done anything to change it prior to this. I currently have a triple boot: xp, debian, and ubuntu. Below is the message that it gives me.

Booting the kernel.
Loading, please wait ...
Warning bootdevice may be renamed, Try root=/dev/hda2
Gave up on waiting for root device. Common problems:

-Boot Args(cat /proc/cmdline)
-check rootdelay = (did the system wait long enough?)
-check root = (did the system wait for the right device?)
-Missing modules (cat /proc/modules; ls /dev)

Alert! /dev/sda2 does not exist. Dropping to a shell!
Enter 'help' for a list of built in commands

/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
(initramfs)

I'm still pretty new to troubleshooting anything in linux so I really don't know how to approach this problem, or how to interpret this error message. Any advice?

·
Manager, - Alternative Computing, - Design
6,529 Posts
Hi,

Welcome to TSF!!

Are you able to make it to GRUB the bootloader? If so are you able to boot into each of the others? It would seem that Debian is looking for the kernel and other files on another hdd. Did you install Debian on a second hdd or is there only one?

Cheers!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi,

Welcome to TSF!!

Are you able to make it to GRUB the bootloader? If so are you able to boot into each of the others? It would seem that Debian is looking for the kernel and other files on another hdd. Did you install Debian on a second hdd or is there only one?

Cheers!
I do make it into the boot loader, and Debian is only installed on the primary drive. Since my original post I have attempted a bunch of things with little success.