Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· TSF - Emeritus
15,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi and welcome. :wave:

Thanks for passing by. The photographer's Corner is for amateur still photography of all levels ranging from the absolute beginner to more advanced enthusiast.

If you need answers on graphic design, digital imaging or media problems, please visit the TSF Forum that addresses those specific subjects in depth.

You can find them here:
Graphic Design, Digital Imaging and Multimedia Forum

· TSF - Emeritus
15,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Image recovery software

Have you deleted images or formatted a drive or camera storage card?

All may not be lost. Literally!

The following is a list of software that will recover those precious pictures. I hope that this list will grow as folk add their faverite image recovery programmes:

1) Zero Assumption Digital Image recovery (ZAR)

The full programme (ZAR 8.4) is not free however the the image recovery portion if the programme is free:
Original Digital Image Recovery was freeware, but ZAR 8.4 seems not?
The digital picture recovery functions are implemented in the trial version of ZAR 8.4 in full. Hence you just need to download the evaluation version of ZAR 8.4 and it does the job at no charge. So, picture recovery functions are actually freeware. There are no plans to charge for it.
----------
Current version (ZAR 8.4) supports digital photo recovery for the following file formats:

GIF
JPEG
TIFF
CRW - Canon RAW data
MOV, AVI movie
WAV - Waveform audio
CR2 - Canon CR2 RAW format (see notes below).
ORF - Olympus RAW format
ZAR even recovered half an image on photo that was overwritten by another file.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a posing from Arfamo 21 July 09, which contains much useful info: