Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all,

This is the first time I have ever had this issue, and I suspect there is something wrong with my Motherboard. However, I am not an expert when it comes to Hardware, so any advices is extremely appreciated. This is a sudden thing. There were no indications to me where it led to a hardware failure. It just stopped working when everything was functioning properly last night.

Last night, I shut off the machine properly, and went to bed. I do this every night. Rarely, I ever leave the computer turned on for the entire night. This morning, when I tried to turn on the computer, nothing happens. The fan will spin for 1 second, then everything gets turned off. The first thing that came into my mind is the Powersupply. So I replaced a W420 with a spare W500. After, I turned on the computer, everything seemed to start up correctly as I am able to hear all the normal noises and the fans spinning, then I get to see the Motherboard splash screen, asking me to 'Press DEL to run Setup, Press Tab to display BIOS POST Message'. Unfortunately, I cannot do so. None of my input devices are working. I have read the BIOS Beep/Error Code thread on this forum, but I seem to get to the same screen after unplugging the two pieces of device.

The following are my hardware specs:

Motherboard: Asus M3A76-CM
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 7850(2.8GHz), 64 Bit Dual Core
Memory: 4GB DDR2 800 (2x2GB)
Hard Drive: 500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM HDD
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 1GB PCI Express Video Card
Power Supply: 420W
Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit

Notes:
- This machine has been fully functional for the past 6 months.