Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First and foremost, my tech level is high. I have a degree in Network Administration, and I've been working with computer hardware for about 8 years.
About a week or so ago we had bad storms in the area and when I cam home from work, my computer was off (obviously from power outage). I didn't think anything of it, because it's happened before.

I turned the computer on and realized that the GPU fan wasn't slowing down and there wasn't any display on the monitor (monitor shows "No Signal"). Usually my fan spins really fast for the first 5 seconds after I power the computer on(this started happening after I updated my bios a few months ago. I assume it's a fan test) and then it slows down to a normal speed.
So the symptoms are: Computer powers on just fine. No display is sent to the monitor, and the GPU fan is really fast.

Troubleshooting I've done:
1. Took CMOS battery out and unplugged power for a few moments, replaced the battery. After I did that and powered on it powered up, fast fan, no display, but then the fans slowed down for about 20 seconds and then sped back up. Once I powered down and tried again it went back to the previous state(fast fans not slowign down).

2. Swapped video card out for a known working video card. Same result.

3. Reseated video card and RAM. Unplugged any extra peripherals (usb powered items) Same result.

4. I even tried unplugging the HDD and powering on to see if I atleast got a picture.

Things I haven't tried/haven't been able to try:
Different PSU, CPU/Mobo, Different RAM.

I was going to purchase another MOBO but I figured I'd get a few opinions before buying anything.
I will be going to a friends house over the weekend to try ram, and mobo/psu. but if yall could give me any other insight it would be great.
I've never had this type of issue before.

Thanks.

·
TSF - Enthusiast
15,298 Posts