Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! last night while using my comp which is placed next to my desk, my cat knocked over a glass of water and it fell STRAIGHT into the top of my HAF 932 (where the top fan is, i noticed my monitor stuck on a frame), i quickly unplugged the power cord, and opened up my comp, cleaned what i could from it with soft tissues and left it overnight to dry, today I tried plugging the power cable back in after no sign of water, The evga classifed heartbeat was beating, and random blue lights turned on, I thought it was safe to try to fully start up my comp, as soon as i pressed the power button, i saw smoke coming out from the back of my computer(where the powersupply is), i removed the powercord again.

I'm not sure if only the powersupply fried or if all the components did(how can i check?), I'm not too good with computer components and i dont really know how to check them out, I checked my monitor, keyboard, mouse, headset and they are all working fine on my laptop.

Thanks.. Please dont make me hate my cat more than i already do :<

· TSF - Enthusiast
7,682 Posts
The only way to test the individual components is to try them in another computer. If this isn't possible, I suggest, once you get a new psu, strip your case and benchtest the system.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f255/how-to-bench-test-your-system-171424.html

By the way, I cannot hate your cat just for doing what cat's do. Mine used to sleep on top of a CRT monitor, blocking all the cooling vents. The only response elicited from yelling and cursing would be a single opened eye telling me where I could shove the flyswatter I was threatening him with. Remember this. You can train your dog. With your cat, you can only make suggestions.

· Registered
3 Posts